The River Management Committees (RMCs) of Metro Manila met late last June to report on their accomplishments and evaluate the implementation of their respective approved Area-Based Management Plans (ABMP) in line with the Operational Plan for the Manila Bay Coastal Strategy (OPMBCS).

Metro Manila has three (3) RMCs organized by the regional office under the Manila Bay Site Coordinating/Management Office-National Capital Region (MBSCMO-NCR).  RMC is composed of representatives of Mandamus agencies and Local Government Units (LGUs) traversed by a particular river system, such as the Malabon-Navotas-Tullahan-Tinajeros (MANATUTI) River System, Pasig-Marikina-San Juan (PAMARISAN) River System and the Muntinlupa-Parañaque-Las Piñas-Zapote (MUNTIPARLASPIZAP) River System.

Together, they prepared integrated management plans addressing the issues of solid waste, liquid waste, informal settler families, and habitat degradation in the 3 river systems of Metro Manila.