Judges conclude their week-long ocular inspection of waterways nominated for this year’s Gawad Taga-Ilog Awards.

Gawad Taga-Ilog is DENR National Capital Region’s pioneering program aimed at recognizing the initiatives and innovations of local government units – especially barangays along rivers and esteros – in keeping their waterways clean and trash-free. It was launched last year, in support of the ongoing cleanup and rehabilitation of Manila Bay.

Winners of Gawad Taga-Ilog are chosen from a list of nominees submitted by LGUs. Judges evaluate and subject the nominated waterways based on aesthetic improvements; people’s participation or involvement in the efforts made to keep the waterway clean and trash-free; innovations; and positive impact on the community as a whole.

13 waterways were nominated this year. These are Estero de Maypajo (for Caloocan City and Navotas City); Sucol Creek (for Malabon City); Polo River (for Valenzuela City); Estero Tripa de Gallina (for the cities of Pasay and Makati); Estero de San Miguel (Manila); Zapote River (Las Piñas City); Tipas River (Taguig City); Lanuza Creek (Pasig City); Park Creek 23 (Marikina City); Maytunas Creek (Mandaluyong City); and Ermitaño Creek (San Juan City).

The award ceremony for Gawad Taga-Ilog winners is scheduled for March 22, 2022, to coincide with the celebration of World Water Day.