Regional Executive Director Jacqueline A. Caancan administered the oath of office to 11 newly promoted, 2 reappointed, and 8 newly hired employees of DENR National Capital Region on Friday, 23 September 2022, in Quezon City.
Director Caancan congratulated the employees on their appointment but advised against resting on their laurels as much work still needs to be done in the region, in particular, the rehabilitation of Manila Bay and the creation of climate-resilient cities and communities of Metro Manila.
She particularly reminded the newly promoted employees of the importance of teamwork and synergy. “We do not work in a silo; rather, we work as a team… So although you are a specialist in your field, you also need to be a generalist and know the mandate and functions of the other offices and units in our organization and be able to pitch in whenever needed”, Director Caancan explained. “To be promoted, you should not confine yourself to where you are right now. You need to expand your horizons. You need to be the whole package of what DENR stands for”, she emphasized.
For his part, Assistant Regional Director for Management Services and Human Resource Merit Promotion and Selection Board (HRMPSB) Chair Manuel T. Escasura offered his congratulations to all newly promoted and appointed employees, urging them just the same to work hard and for the improvement of public service. “Our government right now needs people who are willing to go out of their way and walk the extra mile to uphold the public interest. We need government workers who are sensitive and responsive to the demands of the people”, Assitant Director Escasura said. “At this point”, Assistant Director Escasura said, paraphrasing US President John F. Kennedy’s famous words, “I call on our newly appointed and hired employees to ask not what DENR can do for you; ask what you can do to DENR and the improvement of public service”.
Present during the oathtaking ceremony are Administrative Division chief Jan S. Bautista; Assistant Division chief and Cashier Section chief Elena M. Picaña; Finance Division chief Erlinda O. Daquigan; Legal Division chief Atty. Alma Delos Reyes-Lanzo; Planning and Management Division OIC chief Albina L. Pineda; Conservation and Development Division chief Aida E. Esguerra; Licenses, Patents, and Deeds Division chief Atty. Alvin Joseph G. Constantino; Surveys and Mapping Division chief, Engr. Lina L. Mirandilla; Enforcement Division OIC chief Maricar Puno-Sanchez; and Water Resource and Utilization Section chief and SPB/GAD representative Carmen Hizelle G. Velasco.