water awards



March 22, 2018


DENR-National Capital Region participated in this year’s World Water Day Awards on April 22, 2018 at Novotel Araneta Center in Quezon City.

Now on its third instalment, the World Water Day Awards is an annual event of DENR and its partner organizations in honour of champions and advocates—individuals, organization and their programs—of the wise use of our water resources. The awarding ceremony likewise serves as the culminating activity for the weeklong celebration of World Water Day.

This year’s nominee of DENR-National Capital Region for the “Kampeon ng Katubigan Award” is Villar Social Institute For Poverty Alleviation And Governance (SIPAG) Foundation, a non-stock, non-profit organization established in 1995 by Honourable Senator Cynthia A. Villar.

Villar SIPAG Foundation is an active partner of DENR National Capital Region in the conservation and development of the Las Piñas-Parañaque Critical Habitat and Ecotourism Area (LPPCHEA) and Zapote River.

OIC Regional Director Jacqueline A. Caancan, CESO V, together with DENR OIC, Undersecretary for Manila Bay Concerns and Related Water Concerns Atty. Ma. Paz G. Luna; National Water Resources Board (NWRB) Executive Director Dr. Sevillo D. David, Jr., CESO III; and, Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (MWSI) CEO Ramoncito Fernandez, presented the award to Sen. Villar in recognition of SIPAG Foundation’s support to the plans and programs of the regional office on water resources among others.

A total of eighteen (18) water and environment champions were given the WWD Trophy – a wooden sculpture made by master artist Raul “Tata” Funilas.

The NWRB and MWSI co-organized this year’s World Water Day Awards 2018.